A Stroll Through the Minefield of Brain Bombs

Recently I’ve taken to Googling the name of a great author.  After I’ve done said Googling, I like to put the word “quotes” after their name.  To me, this seemed like an obvious avenue for fun and intrigue, letting a previously dubbed great thinker teach me a think or two.  While I certainly enjoyed the quotes of William Faulkner (a randomly and oddly decisive choice from me for best author ever), the recent reading of Atlas Shrugged has led me to plow Ayn Rand’s minefield of brain bombs. Check this one out:

Achievement of your happiness is the only moral purpose of your life, and that happiness, not pain or mindless self-indulgence, is the proof of your moral integrity, since it is the proof and the result of your loyalty to the achievement of your values.

Hello three months of therapy (slash) time spent with the Dali Lama to explain the way my happiness is the chicken or the egg in my quest for satisfaction.  Here’s another one, and I’ll warn you that you should be wearing a diaper to deal with this crap:

Every aspect of Western culture needs a new code of ethics – a rational ethics – as a precondition of rebirth.

Seriously? Why can’t we just talk about the conditions of birth, placenta and all. The “pre’s” and “re’s” are going to lead to a well thought-out heart attack.  Sigh (yeah, I typed out a physical display of emotional exhaustion), I just want it to end, but then I read this:

Every man builds his world in his own image. He has the power to choose, but no power to escape the necessity of choice.

Alas, the woman doth bleed, and from her blood comes the true nature of the man….this feels like brain vomit…..I wonder if this educator named Ayn Rand (I’d love to give real teachers the educational credit, but teachers are really just guiding conduits to the knowledge that  other explorers found first) really believed half the crap she said, or if she just thought it was pretty enough to place on the page?  Well, one more before I’m tired of this:

God… a being whose only definition is that he is beyond man’s power to conceive.

Now that phrase, it’s honestly worth a think or two.  Hello life, it’s me, Dusty.  And if I were one of the man-zombies that we hear about on the news, I’d like to eat Ayn Rand’s face.

Not sure what the heck I’m talking about,
Dusty “Needs A Nap” Riedesel

5 responses to “A Stroll Through the Minefield of Brain Bombs

  1. Catherine Forsythe

    Does reading half the first chapter of a book really constitute reading it?

    • Dustin Riedesel

      I think you can tell from this post that I wasn’t at my best as I wrote this….but technically, being partially into the book means I’m reading it, and that reading has happened recently. I stand by my words.

      • Catherine Forsythe

        I like giving you a hard time Riedesel. I’ve enjoyed reading the book with you!

  2. Neckrolls4life

    I once read somewhere that the kind of person who has read Atlas Shrugged is the kind of person who would start a sentence with, “I’m not racist, but…”

    I’m so happy that this is back in my life.

    • Dustin Riedesel

      There is no way to combat that insult other than changing the conversation. So, Conyers, do you still beat your wife?

Leave a Reply

