Kobe Bryant’s Diary: A Good American

After 16 years in the league, Kobe Bryant has decided to keep a diary to document “the year he caught Jordan”.  While Kobe refuses to remove the diary from a pedestal in his trophy room, he has allowed Writing Bareback the exclusive rights to post these excerpts.

November 5th – No Game

I thought it was awfully patriotic of David Stern to not schedule us in the last two days leading up to the election.  The last thing that this country’s citizens need is the media firestorm that will surround the first Lakers winning streak of the season.  Everyone should be focusing on the presidential election. As great as David has been in utilizing my tremendous international appeal to grow basketball into a global game, he never forgets how much we owe America. “Home is where the multibillion dollar company is,” David always says, and I know it’s true because my wife Vanessa says the same thing. I’m going to miss the commissioner when he retires. He’s been like a father to every player who’s played at a hall of fame level for over 15 years.

Now that I wrote ths little fluff piece for iVillage, everyone knows that I vote. But that’s all they can know. It’s like MJ said, “Republicans buy shoes too.”  It’d be very easy for others to believe that I endorse Barack after the way I masterfully painted a chummy picture for the press. It’d also be easy to see me voting for Mitt because I’m rich enough to own a vaulted pool of money like Scrooge McDuck.  The truth? I honestly couldn’t care less who won the election. I’m an international megastar because I only care about playing basketball at the peak of human potential, not whether or not women get equal pay (which seems kind of assinine when we consider the WNBA). I’ll still vote though, because that’s what a good American does. I’ll simply walk into the booth, vote for both cadidates and tell anyone who asks that I voted for the best man for the job because “game recognizes game.” That’s just brand management people, where winners figure out a way to win.

-Mamba Out

Leave a Reply

