Kobe Bryant’s Diary: Down Goes Utah!

After 16 years in the league, Kobe Bryant has decided to keep a diary to document “the year he caught Jordan”.  While Kobe refuses to remove the diary from a pedestal in his trophy room, he has allowed Writing Bareback the exclusive rights to post these excerpts.

November 6th – Off Day

Leadership is often a thankless position. I’m not saying it’s thankless in the sense that you don’t get stupidly beautiful women, fantastic financial compensation, great post-leadership career options, and the genuine respect of peers and fans.  It’s not thankless like that. But look at me. I’m on a virtually unprecedented run of success as a leader, and I have to deal with doubters all the time. “Is Kobe too old to carry his team?” “Is Kobe not really as clutch as we think he is?” “Is Kobe turning gay?” The point is, people don’t appreciate all that goes into being a leader, so I tip my hat to both candidates for striving for the burden of leadership.  Naturally, I tip it a little higher to the President, a winner I voted for because game recognizes game.

The most interesting element to this election is that we have to play the Utah Jazz the day after their state’s governor lost the most public popularity contest in the world. How will they respond? Most NBA players are notoriously apathetic where matters like national politics are concerned, but I’m a little nervous about Raja Bell. Raja tends to let his emotions get the better of him. He was born in St. Croix, which is foreign enough to make him educated about politics and allows him to vote as an American citizen. If the Jazz fans are pissed at suffering another public beating at the hands of a flashier, more charismatic opponent, Raja could harness that emotion and throw me in a sleeper. You never want to be the victim of an islander’s sleeper hold, but then you remember that you get to shoot free technical shots, and you also remember that if you sell it right, Raja could get tossed from the game and fined. That’s why you start texting.

Me: 2 losses in a row for Utah – Mamba
Me: Know what I’m saying? – Mamba
Me: DOWN GOES MITT! DOWN GOES UTAH! – Mamba
Raja: I voted for Obama.
Me: You think you can convince Hayward to punch me? – Mamba

No response. Too bad. But it is nice to see how far Raja and I have come along. That we can have adult conversations about politics like that is pretty cool. At least, that’s what I was thinking until I saw that Raja hasn’t played a single minute this season. Loser.

I just read that Mitt’s actually the governor of Massachusetts. That Mormon thing can really throw you off.

-Mamba out.

Leave a Reply

