The 25 Days of Christmas…Music

Over the next 25 days we’ll be sharing classic holiday songs, modern holiday songs, classic holiday songs sang by modern groups/singers and some songs that just sound like holiday songs because they use sleigh bells and sing like Bing Crosby. I hope you’ll enjoy as we haphazardly choose (I realize that’s ironic) some holiday tunes for you.

Contrary to the picture, today’s song isn’t the beautifully imperfect “Buffalo Gals,” sang by George and Mary in my favorite Christmas flick, It’s a Wonderful Life. Although I can’t resist the urge to share this clip so you get a bonus video today!

Today’s song is from one of my favorite bands, Valencia, out of New Jersey and Philly. Contrary to what you’ve seen or heard of on Jersey Shore (umm..I swear I’ve, uh, never watched an episode…) not everything that comes out of the Armpit of America is garbage. (My sincerest apologies to my friends from this state, I love you, and you also are not garbage).

As many of us have picked up and moved miles away from our hometowns (tens, hundreds, thousands of miles?) we can relate to the feeling created by the crisp air and familiar surroundings when “going home for the holidays.” The holidays have also become much more than just gifts and Santa Claus as they afford us a brief retreat from reality to enjoy good friends, family and a few toasty beverages. The song’s titled “Pennsylvania Holiday,” but for the purposes of today’s post we’ll call it “(Insert your home town here) Holiday.” I’ll start now before I start getting reaaally sentimental.

Cheers!

2 responses to “The 25 Days of Christmas…Music

  1. A music advent calendar?! This is 10x better than those off-brand chocolate ones.

    • HAHA agreed. Plus that chocolate always tastes like absolute crap. You just want Christmas to get here so you don’t have to force feed yourself stale, cheap milk chocolate.

Leave a Reply

