The Music Alley – Macklemore “Cowboy Boots”

I know what you’re thinking, “What happened to Dr. Tom?” Well, believe or not, I’m not an actual doctor (*gasps*) and it was really hard and unfair pretending to be something I’m not. Plus, the Mercedes Maybach payments were getting tough on a sales guy’s salary. I try to live out my blog life in real life. So we’re gonna go with The Music Alley (unless I come up with a better name).

I see it as my burden to introduce you to killer music, that you may not stumble across in your own day to day life. One of the most difficult genre’s to do this in is hip hop. Let’s be honest, if 2 Chainz (who has a serious spelling issue) can become famous for singing a song solely about “big booty hoes” and Mystical can make millions for having turrets outbursts for 12 songs, its not easy for someone actually doing something different to bubble to the surface. Especially if it’s a hipster, white guy.

At this point you’ve all heard the song “Thrift Shop” by Macklemore. If not, click the link and enjoy. “Thrift Shop” is to Macklemore what “I Love College” is to Asher Roth what “My Name Is” to Eminem. Its an unbelievable catchy song, that’s hilarious and raps about something we can all pretty much relate to. After hearing it, I figured this guy was gonna be another flash in the pan. Then I listened to his full album.

This guys is talented. I mean, NPR Tiny Desk Concerts even invited him in for a show. This is a BIG deal in the hipster community. Not only is his delivery clear, but his flow is quick, witty and actually packs a message. On his album his topics range from gay marriage in “Same Love” to senseless murders and materialism in “Wing$” to rockin’ an old school Cadillac like a grandpa.

The song I thought I’d share with you is called “Cowboy Boots.” A hip hop song with a banjo as the beat. Yep. The basic premise is a coming of age tune about being a 20-something, partying with friends and nights and friends you can’t forget. Some of my favorite lyrics include “Hold the night for ransom as we kidnap the memories; Not sure there is a way to express what you meant to me; Sit around a table and use those ears as the centerpiece” and “So here’s to the nights, dancing with the band; Strangers into girlfriends from a one night stand.”

I’d love to know what you think about it!

 

 

One response to “The Music Alley – Macklemore “Cowboy Boots”

Leave a Reply

