The Music Alley: No that’s not Woody Harrelson in The Lumineers.

Last night The Lumineers, whom Dusty and I saw in early 2012 in front of 200 people (slightly bragging), were the featured band on Saturday Night Live. It’s pretty awesome to see a super talented music group, like The Lumineers, who self-released their debut album in April 2012 spring board from anonymity into the national spotlight.

As a result of their SNL debut, the masses begin to ask similar questions about the group like I asked when I first listened to them (if you recall, I predicted their explosion in a post on March 28th). Questions like, is that Woody Harrelson in a fedora and suspenders with a white t-shirt playing a tambourine? Today I noticed a major uptick in traffic on our site and found that there were 150+ searches for some rendition of “Is Woody Harrelson in the Lumineers?” I’m guessing due to last nights SNL debut.

For everyone searching, it isn’t inconceivable to think that Woody (who seems to pop up in the most random movies as random characters) but the answer is no, it isn’t Woody Harrelson in The Lumineers. His incredibly close doppelganger is actually Jeremiah Fraites from New Jersey and as far as I know is in no way kin to our favorite weirdo, Woody. Although, when I look at pictures of them side by side, damn it’s hard for me to even believe my own words that it’s not him.

Woody.

Not Woody.

Now that we got that out of the way, in the spirit of of sharing new music with you, if you haven’t purchased their album yet (wait, you haven’t? Oh let me guess, you spent your last $7 on the Creed greatest hits album) here’s your chance, go get the album. Below is the encore song they played on SNL last night which I’m assuming they’ll put out as their next single to follow up on the smash-hit “Ho Hey.” My favorite line from the song speaks moves me no matter how many times I read/hear it, “It’s better to feel pain, than nothing at all. The opposite of love is indifference.” Have a listen, your ears will thank me.

Tommy

Images: {Dawgs Saloon; Philly Burbs}

Leave a Reply

